Responsibility Marks & Mark Search

This mark consists of the initials or symbol of the company or person responsible for making the article. You can also search for a responsibility mark using our mark search facility.

Locality Marks

A mark indicating the nearest officially recognised town or city to which an article was made.

Control Marks

The control mark is proof that a precious metal article was tested and contains a minimum of the metal fineness indicated by the fineness mark.

Fineness Marks

This shows the fineness of the metal – i.e. purity of the precious metal content in parts per 1000.


Year Marks

This shows a letter or a letter and number that relates to the year in which the article was hallmarked.


Other Marks

Rare finds, oddities, and other specialties.